A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Where’s Chloe?

My son and I went on a field trip with his class some weeks back. We went to visit an old plantation. During the entire tour, the guide kept going on and on about the ghost that inhabit the house. She must have mentioned the word at least 40 times just in the parlor alone. It got to be so funny that my son and I started snickering…which only annoyed the lady to no end.

Anyway, when  I downloaded my photos later I thought it would be funny to put my own ghost in one of the  pictures of the house. I picked the ghost of Chloe, a house slave who supposedly murdered the children of one of the former owners way back when.

So  I hunted down an old photo of a former slave woman and then proceeded to photo shop her in.   What you have is the finished picture before you. Can you find her? She really isn’t hard to find. Have fun!

June 1, 2010 - Posted by | black and white photos, humor, kids, photography, plantations, Uncategorized | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Ohhhh such a spooky place. I tried to convince Joe to get married there or at least spend Halloween weekend there and he would have none of it. He’s scared of ghosts on tv and the thought of something watching him from beyond is more than his heart can handle.

    Love the photo and I’m pretty sure Chloe’s eyes followed me as I moved 😉

    I tried to get Scott to stay overnight one year, but he wouldn’t do it. Something about real guys don’t stay at a bed and breakfasts.

    Comment by Nichole Schlais | June 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m so glad to see you! I’ve been missing you 🙂 I see her on the porch behind the tree! Cool!

    Hey,Kathy! I’ve missed being on here too. Yeah, she’s kinda easy to spot…course my kids and hubby couldn’t find her at first.

    Comment by Kathy | June 4, 2010 | Reply

  3. How fun of a field trip was that?? I would love to go visit some old haunted plantation houses. It took me a second to find her (I won’t say where b/c I don’t want to ruin it for other people) b/c you picked a great photo to use with all it’s shadows. Glad to see you back on here!

    It was kinda of a fun trip, Blue. I was the only parent who showed up. I guess not many parents attend their middle school child’s field trip these days. But it was cool. As promised, I didn’t embarrass my son either.I was a well behaved little mom….. as well behaved as one could expect me to be anyway. Thanks for swinging by, girl!

    Comment by bluesuit12 | June 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

