A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Go’in Cold Turkey

Well, It was bound to happen and it would be foolish to say that I didn’t know it was coming.  I tried to hold onto her for as long as possible, but all sweet little girls must grow up. What am I rambling on about?  My youngest daughter…she’s started school and I’m about to cry.

I knew I was on borrowed time these last few months.  I knew it from the get go when I placed her name on the waiting list.  She’s my last child; my baby.  I didn’t realize how hard this was going to be for me. I mean I didn’t get this emotional when my other children started school.   I actually think I was a little overjoyed…just a little. I guess it was because I knew that even though they were all going to be at school, my youngest was still with me.  But she’s not anymore.

I haven’t been ‘alone’ by myself  at home in over 13yrs, and I’m not sure what  to do with my time.  The first few days were hard…very hard. The house is soooo quiet, that it’s almost spooky.  My mind keeps acting as if my daughter is still at home too.  To the point that I even made her a sandwich for lunch one day, only to call her name out and realize that she wasn’t there.

I now know what those parents of one or two kids must have felt when their kid started school full time.  I used to think they were nuts.  I mean who cries and gets that upset when the kid heads off to school?  He’s just going to school.   Well, I understand where they’re coming from now.

And so here I am….alone in this big, spooky old house by myself with no cute curly-headed,  little angel ( or devil depending on how curly her hair was) to keep me safe.

I miss her.

I guess I will go and clean the house again—for the thousandth time today—while I wait for the sound of the bus rounding the street corner.

Hurry up school bell and ring!!!!

January 20, 2010 - Posted by | family, humor, kids, life | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. 13 years is a long time. 😦 Hopefully the adjustment for you will go smoothly & before long you’ll be ok again. Not that you’re not ok now, but well…you know what I mean.

    The high school bus stop is next to our house. The first year after my son grew up & moved out, I did ok…..well, until that first back to school shopping and I didn’t have any reason to shop. Then when school was back in session and the bus came. Siiiigh. The first 6-9 months I kept his bedroom door shut & just pretended like he was sleeping. But, back to you! {{{you}}}

    I completely understand, honey. The whole first day of school, I pretended that my youngest was upstairs playing in the game room. We’re a sad bunch of women….. 🙂

    Comment by Mrs Beans | January 21, 2010 | Reply

  2. awwww 😦 bless your heart…I remember when my last baby started school. I cried the whole first week!

    I waited at the bus stop for her to come home in the afternoon like the kids wait for the mail lady to deliver mail. It was a sad sight to see… 🙂 I was so happy to see her , that I yelled out loud…like a crazy woman. I was more composed the next day.

    Comment by Kathy | January 21, 2010 | Reply

  3. Well I hope the adjustment comes quickly. What about volunteering in her class? That way it won’t really be cold turkey.

    You must have read my mind, Blue. That’s what I’ve been doing the last week or so and it has helped. I think I will apply for a substitute teacher position. They’re (the schools) in desperate need for them and lots of teachers at my kids’ school said I would be perfect for it. The pays not bad either.

    Comment by bluesuit12 | January 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. I can send mine to ya – they are driving my nuts and I’d welcome the peace and quiet. The hair isn’t curly, but since they have the same basic DNA as your youngin’s well let’s just say I’ll send something to you to help cover the gray and a hat to cover her horns 🙂 Landry is training Noah so I think our parents got together and put a hex on me…..and to think I thought we were the good kids.

    Ha, Ha!!! Yeah, and I thought I we were the good kids too. Something strange has happened here since the kids flew the nest… I have peace and quiet (we already knew that), but the weird part is that I’ve been enjoying it a little too much and It’s scary! I miss my kids, but I don’t miss them… does that make sense?

    Comment by Nichole | January 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

