A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Isn’t he cute?

my renter

My family and I live in a rural area. With rural living comes little critters, and sometimes these critters can get into one’s home.  For a few weeks now, I’ve been trying to catch this little guy.  I never saw him or found traces of him, but I heard him. I could feel his presence too in my bedroom, lurking about under my bed and in my closet.

He would also wake me up in the middle of the night as began work on his new condo in my wall. I swear,  It sounded as if he was operating  an earth mover in there while  he was doing his  demo work.    At one point  during his occupancy, I rolled over in bed one evening only to find my husband not there but standing by the dresser, kicking the wall and hollering for the varmint to shut up and go to sleep.

And from all the racket our new friend was making one would have thought for sure that he was a giant rat…the kind they make horror movies about.   But I over came my fear and set  out my  humane mouse trap loaded with a blob of peanut butter.

For a week nothing happened.  Well, I say nothing happened.  I could hear him playing with the trap each night, testing it out to see what it was.  Each morning I would wake up confident in knowing that I had caught the critter, but was disappointed each and every time. That was until today.

I awoke this morning to the triumphant  sounds of him trying to escape the confines of his peanut butter prison.  Running into the living room, I saw  the  trap was sprung.  He was definitely inside it. Now all I had to do was to figure out what to do with him.

I took a poll from all the kids and it shocked me a bit as to their reply: Feed it to the cat.

Well, I can’t do that; not now anyway. Not that I’m opposed to cats eating mice. I’m all for it. It’s  natures way, and my cats do an awesome job of keeping the stats in check. But you’re missing the point here. You see, I’ve looked at him.

I’ve fallen under his spell. I’ve been captivated  by his big ears, his tiny little eyes, his wispy whiskers, and his long slender tail.  He’s just so darn cute….nasty and loaded with cooties, but cute none the less. I mean he can’t be any bigger than one of those little  pom-pom balls you use for crafts, can he?

So my youngest daughter and I put him into a box and are going to release him far, far, far from home….in my neighbor’s yard. Well, actually it’s the back ten acres of his property where it’s wooded.

If I was to release him on our two acres, he’d just find his way back into my house, where  the whole process would  just start over again. Trust me, I know.

In fact, come to think of it, I swear that he looks a lot like the last mouse I caught.  Hmmmm….  If  it is the same one and he returns again, I’m making him sign a one year contract and charging him rent.

November 6, 2009 - Posted by | black and white photos, family, humor, life, Uncategorized | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. You’re right – he is too cute. I wouldn’t be able to feed him to the cat either.

    He looked even cuter with peanut butter all over his face. I’m hoping that the cats don’t find him if he tries to come back.

    Comment by bluesuit12 | November 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

