A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Can I Get a Witness…

Something extraordinary has just recently happened to my husband and I: we didn’t sell our house. For almost two years now, give or take a month, we’ve been trying our best to sell our house. We’ve had no success. Not even a glimmer of a possibility.

First, our price was way, way to high.  Our friend and real estate agent at the time assured us that we would get the price for our 32oo square foot living area home on two acres.  My husband agreed. I thought they were both crazy.

After some time on the market, they decided to lower the price.  But by then it was too late and the housing market had crashed–committed suicide was more like it.  Our friend was replaced with a ‘by owner’ sign and the price was lowered drastically by a hundred thousand.

Even though we were now in a fair price range, people were panicking and no one was calling.

After a few unsuccessful months on our own, we hired another agent from a bigger company this time.  He was terrible to say the least, and kept bragging on his photos of the house.  For six months we sat and waited, but nothing happened.  He was at a loss for words.  Again, we lowered the price drastically and then gave him the boot.

Never in our lives have we had so much trouble selling our house… and we’ve sold lots of them. It’s not as if we were new to the whole business.

Then things got worse.  We were having trouble making our house notes and bills due to some outside, unforeseen happenings.  But we were bound and determined more than ever to sell our house before we drowned.

Back in the yard went the’ by owner’ sign with yet another price drop.  This time it was under what we owed on it by 20 thousand.  In essence we were giving the house away just so we could break even ( well, not even that really). Even that didn’t work.

During this whole chaotic  time, I had been praying for God to show me– us–what to do.  Our reasons for moving had seemed pretty solid in the beginning, but I was starting to doubt everything.  I was discouraged, depressed, and had lost my ability to see the humor in life.

Not a good place to be in, but I continued to pray.

Then two things happened that seemed to be a miracles:  First,  our mortgage company after almost a year of fighting with us, gave us a fixed low, low rate on our home loan.   And Second,  a young couple had called us back to set down and talk terms.  In other words, they wanted the house. All of this within a few days of each other.

I screamed ( really, I did) for joy; we had done it!

But as the time and day drew closer to close the deal on our house, I began to get nervous and angry.   Things didn’t feel right; something was wrong. We had gotten what we wanted, prayed for, but It was making me feel uneasy.

So I shut the prayer closet door and ask God in plain, simply words to tell me yes or no on selling our house (I’m sure he didn’t appreciate me talking to him as if he were a four year old…).  I told him that I was slow and pig headed and that I needed him to physically tell me the answer.

About an hour or so later, the phone rang.  It was my mother.  She stated that she wasn’t sure just why she was calling me. You see, my mom doesn’t just call out of the clear blue to shoot the breeze.  She has to have a reason.

Anyway, she proceeded to tell me all the happenings in the family that was going on and to who it was happening too and so on.  Somewhere in the conversation, I mentioned that we finally had a buyer for our house when suddenly the words,” You shouldn’t sell your house” burst from her lips.

“What?”

” You shouldn’t sell your house.  It’s a mistake; don’t do it.  Things will get better.”

Now, she was the one in the first place who agreed with our reasons for selling.  What was going on here?  And then it hit me: God had giving me my answer. I  suddenly felt warm, fuzzy, and very content.   Immediately I thanked Him.  It felt as if a huge weight had been lifted from my shoulders; I could breath again.

I hung up with my mother and called my husband, telling him where I stood on selling our house.  I also told him how I came to this conclusion and he agreed that we shouldn’t sell.  Just like that, it was over.  What a huge breeze of fresh air.

When the kids came home from school, I told them that we weren’t moving and every last one of them shouted for joy.  We were all happy not to be moving.

Then, something strange happened to me.  I found my joy; I found my humor. I discovered that I really did like my house.  I like having roots; the kids like having roots. The world didn’t look so harsh now.  It’s strange, I know.

Now, all this is not to say that we have magically gone from just barely getting by to being well off. The storm of this ‘ time and season’ isn’t over yet.  We still have to budget every penny that we get,  but I can see the sun breaking on the horizon.   Better times are coming….I can feel it in my bones.

What a great God  we have!

living room h77

November 3, 2009 - Posted by | family, kids, life, religion, Uncategorized | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’m so glad that you’re feeling better about the house situation – what an absolute relief!! I really hope more things start to turn around for you and your family. That is a beautiful home!

    It’s a relief to not be selling. I hated people/strangers walking around in my house. They all made comments on my decorating or the color of the carpet. I have 3200 sq ft of putting-green carpet that came with the house when we bought it. I feel like I should mark off a course and put up flags for the different holes. I hate the color green now. 🙂

    Comment by bluesuit12 | November 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

