A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

AARGHHH!!!!

red-headed-woman2People ask me all the time, “How many kids do you have?” And I usually reply without skipping a beat, ” I have six if you count my husband.”

This morning I got the shock of my life. No I’m not pregnant…again.  At exactly 5:36am this morning (give or take a few minutes) I turned on my kitchen faucet and got shot smack-dap in the face and chest with water.  As I stood there dumbfounded and still half asleep, I tried to figure out just why the faucet was misbehaving.

It took me a whole ten seconds (with the water shooting me in the face the entire time, btw) to realize that it wasn’t the  faucet who was misbehaving, but someone else in my family.

Seems  that particular someone thought it would be funny knock down hilarious to put a rubber band around the sprayer nozzle, locking it in the ‘open’ position.  Which, when the water was turned on, would  spray the poor, unsuspecting  fool with cold water.

Now given that this joke was extremely juvenile in origin, I had two choices as to who the trickster was: my husband or my twelve year old son.  Seeing as how my twelve year old wasn’t hiding around the corner or sprawled out on the kitchen floor laughing, I narrowed it down to my husband.

Sure enough as I entered the bedroom dripping wet, my husband—the guilty party— sat up in bed and began laughing….uncontrollably, mind you.  When asked why he would do such a thing he replied,  “It was either that or ketchup packs under the toilet seat.”

Yes folks, I have six kids living in my house.

March 20, 2009 - Posted by | family, humor, kids, life, Uncategorized | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. LMAO OMG I would have steam coming off the water bc I’d be so mad. Bless your heart honey, I feel for you.

    This isn’t anything new, Kathy. When I was pregnant with our first child, he would jump out and scare the begebbies out of me as I walked down our stairs. I finally had to install a mirror on the stair landing so that I could tell if he was waiting around the corner for me. He said that I took all the fun out of it.

    Comment by Kathy | March 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. This is a joke we construction workers play on each other all of the time…black electrical tape is even better because it is much harder to detect.

    Too funny….

    Hubby also likes to do the salt and pepper trick on me too. You know when you loosen the lid of one or the other so that it pours out onto your food when you use it. So I take it you’re the same ‘age’ as my husband: seven. It must be something to do with the male gene…

    Comment by morethananelectrician | March 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. These are the things I love reading about b/c they’re hilarious – until they happen to me and then it’s not funny at all. Your husband sounds pretty chill. I bet he and the kids swap prank ideas. Come to think of it, you should pull one on him so you can have the last laugh.

    My hubby is a hoot to be around and yes he does swap prank ideas with the kids. Ugh! I’m no good a pulling pranks, but I can wash and shrink his favorite pair of blue jeans. ( I once turned all his undies and socks pink after one of his pranks)

    Comment by bluesuit12 | March 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks for coming back…
    I missed you and then I was gone…

    Love you, girl…
    Hey Barb, it’s great hearing from you too…even if it seems we’re playing a game of ‘blog’ tag (kinda like phone tag) here. Hope things are well.

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | March 23, 2009 | Reply

  5. thanks for the comment, Scottie.. you can probably tell I’ve been a little scattered lately…God is still good..

    How is your work situation and the finances..We have so many people in our church out of work..Mike business is really slow also…we all just hang in there, and trust….Love you…Barb

    We’re still hanging in there. We’ve listed our house for sale again.

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | March 23, 2009 | Reply

  6. My husband’s idea of a prank is always to hide something ~ usually my coffee or whatever I’m drinking. At least that doesn’t get me soaked! So, I’m ok with it once in a while…

    I’m just thankful that he didn’t do anything to me on April fools day. I guess that was his day off seeing as how he does it the rest of the 364 days of the year.

    Comment by annie | March 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

