A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Time

sunrise-girl2They say time is a precious commodity, one that shouldn’t be wasted, and I couldn’t agree more.  Especially when it comes to spending time with young children.

I have five  kids at home with the oldest being 12 and the youngest being three.  With that many feet running around my house, I sometimes find it difficult to spend quality time with each… but I try. Ordinary things become special when it’s one on one.

My middle daughter likes to wake up at the crack of dawn—why, I don’t know.  So she’s up when I’m up at 530am. She’s there when I fold the laundry, and she’s there when I get my oldest up for school.  The tiny child snuggled in her pjs even watches quietly as I brew the coffee so that my husband can start his day. Not a sound does she make.sunrise-girl

This morning I found myself sitting on the sofa next her in the dark, both of us wrapped in a blanket, staring out the window at the sunrise.  It was beautiful; she was beautiful.  This is our time together—just mother and daughter.  And for a brief moment, nothing else mattered.

When she’s older and has kids of her own, I hope she looks back on these mornings as something special.  Who knows? Maybe she’ll want to watch the sunrise with her kids too.

sunrise

March 3, 2009 - Posted by | black and white photos, family, kids, life, photography, Uncategorized | ,

7 Comments »

  1. That’s cool. My dughter is the early riser and we get to spend time with each other in the morning before i go to work and I love it. My oldest and I stay up later than everyone and my daughter and I get up before everyone.

    Comment by morethananelectrician | March 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. That’s so cool that you’ve found a moment that belongs to just you and your daughter. And the pic is gorgeous!

    Comment by bluesuit12 | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  3. I bet she will. I think that’s awesome y’all have your mornings ♥ beautiful picture too!

    Comment by Kathy | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. Beautiful photo and word picture. Also, what a precious time for you and her. I call those times “Mary” times. When Mary “pondered those things about Jesus in her heart.”
    Love you…

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. That is really sweet. It’s great that you recognize these moments and cherish them the way you do. I think far too many parents are moving too fast to notice.

    God bless.

    Comment by annie | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  6. That picture is magic. Incredible…
    Love you, girl…You holdin’ on??? I’m holdin’ you up…
    Barb

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | March 15, 2009 | Reply

  7. Where are you, girl?????

    Hey girl, I’m here. I’ve just been busy lately. I’m sorry that I haven’t had a chance to get back with everyone, especially you.
    Thanks for ‘holding’ me up, Barb. God bless!

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | March 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

