A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

It’s that time again

concertSpring is just around the corner and that means two things : Cleaning and concert time.  We have a few good bands heading our way  this year too.  Just yesterday, I purchased some Building 429 tickets, and the Rock and Worship Roadshow with Mercy Me, Jeremy Camp, and others. I’m stoked! (folks still use that word, right?) I love concerts even at my age.

Now, I know what your thinking: why would a woman who’s family is in financial distress be buying concert tickets?  I’ll tell you why. Our family could use a little R&R from the daily stress of being broke. This is a positive thing that I can share with my kids, and the total price for the tickets was cheaper than the price of just one of their field trips for school.

We don’t go to movies. We don’t eat out. We don’t go shopping, and my kids don’t partake in sports.  So why not spend a little dough on a Christian concert?  Besides, I felt a little guilty that we couldn’t afford to send them on their school spring trips that all their friends are going on.

So for the next few weeks we will be eating Raman noodles, hot dogs, and sandwiches in order to pay for the tickets, but I say  the sacrifice is totally worth it.  I can’t wait!

building-4292

February 26, 2009 - Posted by | family, kids, life, Uncategorized | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I think this is a great idea for you and your family, especially after reading about the stresses you’ve been going through. Looking back, your kids are going to remember things like this about their childhood and it will definitely make the sacrifice worth it! I hope you have a lot of fun!

    I was thinking along the same lines. The kids need to have some fun—-at least some of the time.
    I can’t wait until the concert!

    Comment by bluesuit12 | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. I totally agree with you..why not? Everyone needs some kind of reward for successfully surviving life 🙂 I’d eat some Ramen noodles too!

    I like that…”successfully surviving life”….never really looked at it that way. Pass the noodles, please! 🙂

    Comment by Kathy | February 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. DEFINITELY worth it!

    Comment by annie | March 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

