A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Forgotten prayer

woman-prayingI pray.

I pray all the time.

I pray about everything and for everyone.

The bible says to be specific in what we ask for.

I’m specific.  I like to get right to the point.

For as long as I have been a believer, I’ve prayed this prayer when someone leaves a house/my house in a vehicle.  This prayer was first intended as one for my husband, who has to drive an hour to work each morning and an hour back each evening. But it has also been extended to cover such folks as  the bus driver driving my kids to school in the morning too. Lord knows, she could use the help she can get transporting all those little ones placed in her care safely to school.

This is my prayer:

Heavenly Father,  please watch over (insert name). I plead the blood of Jesus over them. Lord God, please keep them save from incidents, accidents, tickets, breakdowns, flat tires, mishaps, freaks of nature, lightening, storms or what-have-ya’s ( I like to cover all the bases just in case).  Lord I loose your angels and ask them to go forward  to clear the way (preferable of traffic) and I ask that some stay behind and form a hedge of protection ’round about them/(insert name again). I ask this in Jesus name, Amen.

Just recently I’ve added a new line to this old and familiar prayer. ” Lord please keep them safe from crazy men in blue Cadillacs too.”  This came about after a  stint on a curvy, non-shouldered, two laned, high traffic road that my husband travels on each morning where a man in a blue Cadillac tried to run/force my husband off the road—not once but several times.  It freaked my husband out. It freaked me out. Thus he was added.

Anyway, I left the house this past Sunday on my way to a bridal shower…that I was supposed to be helping to host.  I had the kids in the car and was half way there when I got caught up in a road block.  Seems the local police had nothing better to do that day.  I got pulled over for not having an inspection sticker.  Well, that’s not entirely true.

See, I had   one of those bright orange ( which had faded to a sick pinkish color cause of its age),  failure to pass stickers  scotched taped (yes you read right—it was that old) to my window.  I was due up. It’s not that we were  lazy or anything, the car just has a lot wrong with it…a lot of expensive stuff wrong with it. Put it like this, I will tell you what does work on the car: the air conditioning, radio, and headlights.  We were just saving up to pay for the repairs of which we now have ten days to have done or else.

After all was said and done and I had successfully convinced the officer not to tow the vehicle, leaving me and the kids standing on the side of the road  (seems there was a  tiny discrepancy in the motor vehicles’ computer. It said that we didn’t have insurance  when we clearly did, only I couldn’t find the blasted card), I realized that I had not said my usual prayer before I’d left the house. DOH! and DAG-NABIT!!!!

Now, I’m not saying that having said it would have stopped me from getting the ticket, but it does kinda make you wonder. I’m just glad that it’s all over.  I’m afraid that I wasn’t much of a hostess, though, at the bridal shower. Hope my sister in law forgives me.  May your future wedding day be blessed, honey!

February 24, 2009 - Posted by | family, humor, kids, life, religion, Uncategorized | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Oh I just cringe at the thought of you having to come up with money like that. I cringe at the thought of anyone (except maybe super rich/never had to work a day in their life people) having a deadline like that. 😦 Sorry honey 😦 I pray too. 🙂 You’ll definitely be added to my prayers. I hope it all works out well. Maybe there are some discounts online… I would look up the stores in your area and see. A lot of times they don’t advertise them and you only know if you happen to be on their website (which honestly, who goes to retailers websites unless they’re specifically looking for something? Not many that I know) and see it. Good luck! I’ll be thinking about you 🙂

    Yeah, my hubby is looking online to try and find us the best deals. He’s still gonna have to take a couple of days off to fix the car, though, as we don’t have the money to have the dealer or mechanic shop fix it. It cost us just under 500dollars last time to have two of the coil packs replaced and they went bad again—just out of reach of the warranty date. The officer even made a comment about how they blow through coil packs like they were nothing in their cars ( Fords are lemons, I tell ya!) Plus, I not only have one catalytic converter on my car, but two of the blasted things. TWO! and they are both shot.
    Thanks for keeping us in your prayers, Kathy. It’s much appreciated.

    Comment by Kathy | February 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hello,

    I happened upon your post through a Google Alert I set up on the phrase, “plead the blood”. Many of the “hits” I get on my blog are from searches on that phrase which I wrote about in 2006. You might be interested in reading what God showed me about that phrase at: http://roadrevelations.org/?m=200601. Scroll down to Plead The Blood. Be Blessed!

    Bill

    Hey, Bill. Glad you took the time to stop by the blog. I hope to find the time to head on over and return the favor soon. I’d love to hear what you have to say and what God has showed you.

    Comment by Bill Dotson | February 25, 2009 | Reply

  3. Car problems are the absolute worst! I was sad to move from Utah because I really trusted the mechanic I went to. I’ll add you to my prayers as well. I do sort of the same thing but mostly when I or someone I know is going on a long road trip or flying somewhere and in that case I make sure I’m blessing the pilot and the mechanics that worked/serviced the plane. As for myself I pray that should something go wrong I’m able to stay calm and think clearly and rationally.

    Think rationally??!!! Now, honey, where’s the fun in that? 🙂
    Thanks for adding my to your prayer list, Blue. You are on mine as well (that didn’t sound quite like it’s supposed to be..)
    later girl!

    Comment by bluesuit12 | February 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

