A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Looking for the silver lining

It’s quite this morning. Hubby has left for work already and the kids are sleeping in late.  That in itself is a small blessing for me. It means that I get to have some time to myself.  Just me, my coffee, my thoughts, and my computer. You’d think I’d be somewhat happy.  I’m not.  I’m struggling this morning to say the least.

Seems that my Bah-humbug attitude has carried it’s negative self past  December 25.  I wish it would go away. The everyday things are getting to me; piling up, breaking me down, and stealing my joy.  I feel out of sorts with the world around me and very angry because of it.  Now, I know what you’re gonna say….’It’s because of that time of the month.’  Some of it is, I’ll confess,  but I fear this goes a bit deeper than just hormones.  I’ve lost something inside it seems.

What this ‘something’ is, I have a pretty good idea. But I won’t get preachy this morning.

My hubby and I have decided to take a mini-holiday.  We could both use it. We’re heading up country to the old home place for a few days.  I hope to use that time to get things inside of me, right again.  A little alone time with me, God, some good ol’home cooking, and a little country house in the middle of nowhere that is in desperate need of a cleaning (something that I will enj0y doing).

And maybe while we’re there, I’ll take out the camera and snap some photos for y’all.

~later

December 30, 2008 - Posted by | family, food, kids, life, photography, religion, Uncategorized | ,

5 Comments »

  1. Scottie, My precious friend….have a wonderful “time away”. My prayer for you is that you and the Lord can talk and talk, listen and listen.
    That you come back refreshed and with a clear outlook.
    I also, would love to see some of those great photos that I know you can take, especially with the freedom of letting go….
    Much love my friend. Barb

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. Getting away can be helpful for your inner self. It never really worked for me…I don’t adapt to change very well, but it really does some good for the Mrs…so I tag along.

    Comment by morethananelectrician | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling the way you are. I really hope this time away with your husband will be therapeutic and just what you need. Here’s to a happier and better new year for you!

    Comment by bluesuit12 | December 31, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thanks, guys…..

    Comment by Scottie | January 1, 2009 | Reply

  5. Gotta funny story for you today over on my blog…
    Love you, girl…I truly pray you are getting some relax time and refocus, all that you want and need.
    Barb

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | January 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

