A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Let it snow, let it snow, let it…..

my log house looks kinda nice in the snow...

HEY!  Wait just one cotton-pick’in minute here.  It’s not supposed to snow in the deep south….is it?  Well folks that’s just what it did a week ago.  Not any of this sissy stuff that melts once it hit the ground, but the good stuff. The kind of snow that’s perfect for snowmen making.

It started just before five in the morning and being the good mother that I am, I woke up the kids.  We all got dressed and went outside to ‘play’ in the snow.  By daylight, the falling snow had gotten heaver…and deeper.  All in all it snowed for a total of almost 4hours.

three days after the storm and theirs still snow on the ground

three days after the storm and theirs still snow on the ground

This  hasn’t happened (well yes it has snowed here before, but not like this) since I was five.  That’s a long time, folks. When it had finished, our pasture held a foot of snow–A FOOT!– and the area around the house was about six to eight inches deep.  What a blast!

The kids played and played until they couldn’t feel their hand and then they played some more. But there was a down side to all this fun, as usual.  I’m afraid that live oak trees, while great hurricane survivors, are not meant to have snow on them.  The one in our front yard suffered major damage with large limbs at least a foot thick, breaking under the weight of the snow and ice.   The kids were warned not to play around or underneath the trees.  In the eerie, unusual quiet and calm of the busy highway out front, you could hear trees creaking and snapping.

Also, we had a few power outages scattered about.  Some friends of ours didn’t get theirs back on until  early Saturday morning.  I told her that I would watch her kids Thursday and Friday while she and her husband went to work, because there was no sense in  the kids freezing to death alone in their house with no power and no fireplace.  We’d all just freeze and starve to death here at my house.  So for two days straight, I had a house full of kids—mine, the neighbors, our friends’ children, and every other child in the neighborhood.

O'river birch tree, O' river birch tree....

This is what I have been doing in my absence here on WordPress.  That and shopping, babysitting, photo taking, school parties, school plays, loosing my marbles….  With the holiday drawing near, the kids being home from school, and just everyday what-have-ya’s  going on, I don’t really have time to chat here.  But don’t be dismayed.  I shall return.  Hopefully the first of the new year shall bring fresh mayhem, laughter, and whimsical stories for me to share with all of you.

Until then….may you and your family have a very peaceful, blessed, and happy holiday season.  MERRY CHRISTMAS!

~Scottie

December 19, 2008 - Posted by | family, humor, kids, photography | ,

3 Comments »

  1. WTF! It is even snowing on your blog…you must have really gotten hit hard!!!!!!!!!

    🙂

    Snow on my blog? Oh that’s not snow…that’s dandruff. 🙂
    (I think it’s even snowing in my brain!)

    Comment by morethananelectrician | December 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. Ah, the joys of snow. I am currently also buried in the white stuff and although it makes for beautiful scenery, it often becomes too cold to send the heathens outside for play (-29°C/-19°F currently). Does everything good have to have a down side like that?

    I hope you stay warm and cozy and have a Merry Christmas!

    BRRRRR….that’s cold! It’s nice to get snow every now and then, but I don’t think I could handle it all the time. I’d end up killing my kids and hubby….and I really don’t want to do that. I kinda like them. 🙂
    Thanks for the Christmas wishes…Merry Christmas to you too!

    Comment by shmode | December 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. We got a few snow storms here with more on the way but that’s pretty normal for Utah. Though I still hate it. My mom and brother left Arkansas this morning to drive out here and I couldn’t believe that after the snow and ice they had it had already melted and was supposed to be in the 60s there today. I hope you and your family have a very Merry Christmas and I look forward to hearing about.

    It was in the seventies here just the other day and today it’s 29 and tomorrow it’s supposed to be hot again. Go figure!
    Merry Christmas Blue!!! Hope you and your family have fun. Talk at’cha after new years….. 🙂

    Comment by bluesuit12 | December 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

