A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Shave and a Haircut..

Being a family of seven, I as a mother often  resort to doing things myself that would otherwise be done by a ‘professional’.  This is done to save money. Such things as making my own curtains, creating artwork for our walls, or performing the occasional handyman job.  Also in this bag of tricks is hair cutting.

Now before you go and get a picture of Jim Carrey (Dumb and Dumber) in your head, I must tell you that I’m not half bad at this task….at least when it comes to the boys’ hair.  Girl hairstyles require a little more…..uhm….let’s just say that I don’t attempt to cut their hair.  Boys hair,  if screwed up,  can just be  shaved  off.  You can’t do that with the  girls without fear of being murdered in your sleep.

Anyway, the other day I noticed my youngest son was in dire need of a haircut and he agreed.  He can’t stand curls and his black hair had gotten so long that curls were abounding everywhere.  I pulled out the clippers and began cutting away. Once the curls were no more, and  I had finished styling the ‘do’ , I began  dusting off the hair from around his neck. It was then that I realized  his neck needed shaving and I made a comment of such.

“Mom while you’re doing that, can you also shave my beard?”

This comment caught me off guard.  Now, I knew his sideburns had gotten a bit long and I had planned on trimming those up, but a beard?

“Honey, you don’t have a beard… your seven years old,”  I said laughing at my son’s imagination.  ” Maybe if you tried washing the dirt from your face….”

“No, really; i do have a beard….see?”

Lo and behold my son turned and faced me and there, as stated, on his tiny, child face was the beginning of a beard. A BEARD!  And this wasn’t just a stray hair poking out here and there.  It was a real beard—down the cheek, around the chin, and up the other side. I even pulled on the hair to see if it was real and really stuck to him.  It was.

“Good heavens!” I exclaimed, staring down at the  little Eddie Munster before me. At this rate my child will be the only one starting third grade next year with a five o’clock shadow.  “Where in the world did that come from?”

“Can you shave it off for me?  I don’t like it.”

As strange, bizarre, and weird as it sounded coming out of my  mouth, I replied, ” Yes…I can shave it off for you.”

Ya just can’t make this stuff up, folks.  Life is such a trip… even if it is stranger than fiction sometimes.

So not only did I cut my son’s hair that day, but I also shaved his beard off.  This has got to be one for the books.

December 8, 2008 - Posted by | family, humor, kids, life, Uncategorized | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. “…staring down at the little Eddie Munster.”

    LOL!

    He’ll turn into Cousin IT before you know it. (I know those are two different shows, but you get what I mean.)

    Heavens, ain’t it the truth! He’ll probably be cousin IT by High School…

    Comment by morethananelectrician | December 8, 2008 | Reply

  2. Holy cow that’s crazy! Poor kid already has to worry about shaving. I don’t know about guys shaving their face but I hate shaving my legs and can’t imagine if I had had to start doing that when I was 7.

    If he starts getting back hair I’m definitely gonna freak out. He’ll be the wolf man in no time then. 🙂

    Comment by bluesuit12 | December 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hey…
    I miss talking to you some. I have been a little lax on my blog, so busy…Christmas with the kids here in California this Sat. and then Monday we leave for Tennessee to spend Christmas with Brody, Kristin and the boys. I have not seen them in about 1 1/2 years. That’s enough. i miss then terribly. Please pray for journey mercies as we travel…
    I hope to order some of that coffee and have it sent to Brody’s house so we can try it. I’ll let you know.
    Merry Christmas…Much love, Barb

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | December 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. You must’ve been feeding him a light version of something that puts hair on your chest and it ended up on his face instead :P.

    Jody

    It could’ve been those Flintstone vitamins he was taking…. 🙂
    thanks for stopping by, Jody!

    Comment by shmode | December 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

