A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Ya gotta try it…

about_historyI’m not usually one to promote a food or beverage brand—I usually leave that to Adam—but I can’t help it here.  For all of you coffee drinkers out there you’ve got to give  Community Coffee a try.  It’s a southern tradition and one that should be experienced by all…including you yanks who think you know good coffee. (I’m sorry, honey, but you haven’t a clue.  Folgers, Dunkin Donuts,  Waffle House, Starbucks, and every Instant coffee out there is not coffee...it’s dishwater compared to this.)

Growing up, Community Coffee was always  a  regular staple in our house as it is in my own home today.  My favorite blends are the In Between Roast followed closely by the Dark Roast. They have flavors to suit every palate.

In the morning, its full-bodied flavor can wake up even the heaviest of sleepers.  And in the afternoon (4 o’clock) it’s a welcome drink to help hold you over till suppertime. As we speak, I’ve just poured my third cup  this morning as I ready myself for the day ahead.

On vacation this past summer to North Carolina, both my husband and I almost had a coronary when we couldn’t find our favorite coffee.  Like a dimwit, I had forgotten to pack it; thinking we could buy some when we arrived. I was wrong.  Praise the Heavenly Maker —who I’m convinced is also a Community Coffee drinker– we actually found it in a small out of the way store.  Only five, one pound ‘bricks’ lined the shelves. I was so over joyed at finding my  precious Dark Roast that I actually squealed for joy…much to the dismay of the other folks on the Isle. And just for the record, you people in Chicago have the worst coffee on the face of the planet; YUCK!

I soon found out that Community Coffee is only found/carried in the deep south.  That’s a shame for all you other folks out there.  My solution?  Order you some online…you won’t be sorry. The company ships world wide.   It will be the best money you’ve ever spent on coffee; I guarantee it. If it’s not then…then…I’ll renounce my southern roots.  How’s that?

You don’t believe me? Ask anyone who’s tried it for the first time or just ask my sister-in-law’s family from Wisconsin. When they came down for their daughter’s wedding, the actually bought another suitcase to carry back all the pounds of Community Coffee.  They still order it  today as does my brother who now lives in frozen country.

Community Coffee….the absolute best coffee you’ll ever try.

December 1, 2008 - Posted by | family, food, humor, life, Uncategorized | ,

4 Comments »

  1. I have a weird relationship with coffee. I can’t stand the taste of it, but it smells SO GOOD!

    I know what you mean. I didn’t start drinking coffee until I hit 35.

    Comment by Adam Riggins | December 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. 35?

    I thought you were still in your 20’s!

    Ha, Ha…cute. My brain still thinks it’s in it’s 20’s…… guess you earned points for that compliment. 🙂

    Comment by morethananelectrician | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  3. I was probably 47 years old before I started drinking coffee. Now I love it. I cannot stand Starbuck’s coffee, tastes bitter to me.
    I think I would like to order some of that coffee on live. It would be fun just to get it and try and then let you know how I like it.
    You are a great friend, would love to have a cup of that coffee and just sit and talk to you.
    Much love, Barb

    Seems a lot of folks don’t start drinking coffee until they reach around mid-life. If you order the coffee, Barb, I’ll bring the beigets (ben-yeahs)….mmmmmmmmmm. And we’ll talk each others ear off till the cows come home. How’s that sound? 🙂

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  4. Scottie..I did it ! I could not sleep last night, it was our “California Christmas Eve”. Up at 3 a.m. ordered the coffee to have it sent to Brody and Kristins to be there when we get there. That was very fun….I will let you know how it goes…

    Merry Christmas, my friend, may the Lord bless and keep your family snuggled in His care.
    Hey..Heard you have snow ?!!!
    Much love, Barb

    woman you crack me up! Most people at 3 in the morning aren’t thinking about coffee….they’re thinking about how to get back to sleep. 🙂 I’m so glad you took the ‘plunge’ and ordered some. I really think you’ll like it. Hope the rest of the family enjoys it too! May God bless you and yours this Christmas, especially while traveling on the roads. Merry Christmas Barb!

    PS. I’ll have to tell y’all all about the blizzard we had soon. It was a blast! Until then…Later!

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | December 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

