A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

One of those moments

Yesterday, we had an early Thanksgiving dinner at my mother-in-law’s house.  Just before we left, she gave my girls some aprons—the kind you use when you cook.  They were her mother’s which would make them my kids’ great grandmother’s.

The kids had a blast as each got to pick out one for herself.  Most of them date back to the 1940’s, especially my oldest daughters.  The other ones remind me of my own grandma’s.  I can still  smell the food cooking in her  tiny kitchen. MMMM….

During the ‘fashion show’, I looked over and my mother-in-law’s eyes were moist and she had a grin plastered on her face from ear to ear. ” Momma would be so pleased to know that her great grandchildren got this much fun out of her aprons and that she could pass them down to them.”

For a moment I too felt all warm and fuzzy inside looking at my girls.  They’re growing up so fast.

apron

November 24, 2008 - Posted by | family, food, kids, life, Uncategorized | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

