A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

cooking up a storm

It’s fall and that means baking time!  I don’t know what comes over me each year, but I start cooking like a crazy person.  Some of it is normal stuff and some of it is stuff that I’ve never tried before. Most of it comes out fit for human consumption…. and then there is the stuff I feed to the garbage can, which hasn’t been very often this year. Maybe I’m getting better….

biscuts If there is one thing I can cook it would be these little fellas.  They will make you want to slap your mama upside the head they’re so good (and these don’t come from a can either ). Each morning I get up and throw down the flour to make these for the kids, and they actually fight over them as I’m pulling them out of the oven. Most of the time they never make it to the plate.  MMMM…  Can you smell the hot butter?  Pass the jelly, please.

bread

Here something new I tried: homemade french bread.   They look good don’t they?  It’s a shame they didn’t taste that way.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  They were actually pretty good only they didn’t taste like french bread—more like heavy, defensive weapons some little old lady might carry in her purse. Each loaf weighed about 2pounds, not light and fluffy like french bread is supposed to be.

I did as the instructions said and kneaded the bread for ten minutes, but I think if I had kneaded less they would have been lighter.  Maybe I’ll try it again and do it my way next time.  Anyway, these fellas got sliced up and turned into the most ‘excelent’ of french toast, fryed up with the egg mixture and powered sugar, you could ever have.  Quick!  Slap someone….

November 21, 2008 - Posted by | family, food, kids, photography, Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Oh man those all look so good! That’s one thing I want to try to make is rolls. Except if I learned I’d probably make them all the time and since it’s just me I would eat all of them myself. But I’m hungry and thinking I’ll be making a stop at the store this morning.

    I have to refrain from eating the biscuits most of the time because if I did, I would eat them all and be wide as a house! I would love to be able to make some of those Parker house rolls–the kind that take all day to rise. Now those I would eat all by myself.

    Comment by bluesuit12 | November 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. Mmmmmm!

    (hypnotized)

    Ha, Ha 🙂 Ok, you can stop drooling now………..

    Comment by morethananelectrician | November 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

