A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Do you hear laughing?

Hey look! It’s Woody Woodpecker in my pecan tree.  These fellas are hard to spot nowadays…least around here they are.  Oh, we have plenty of the smaller varieties (regular woodpeckers), but these ‘giant’ ones ya just don’t see everyday.  And I was very pleased to see him pecking away at my tree the other morning.  It seems this species lives in old growth pine trees. The large forest of them across the street from us got pummeled during the hurricane and I was afraid that he and his mate  had disappeared for good. I was happy to be proven wrong.  You can always tell when he’s around because it sounds like someone is taking a jackhammer to a tree.

And while Woody was busy pecking holes in the side of my tree, this slick guy was up top stealing pecans.

I think these two guys were in cohoots together………….

October 23, 2008 - Posted by | life, photography, Uncategorized | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I saw the same looking woodpecker in eastern Virginia a couple of weeks ago. Maybe he flew south.

    Comment by morethananelectrician | October 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Wow !!! I never have seen anything like that. Great photo, my friend. Thank you so much for sharing it. I love it.

    Hugs, Barb

    Thanks Barb….and thank you for reading my friend.

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | October 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

