A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

A busy few days

I’ve had such a whopper of a time thest past few days. You name it, it happened.  Let’s see…

** My youngest daughter knocked out her front tooth in the driveway, running to show daddy her new shoes.  She tripped and went KASPLAt! Mommy was blessed with the duty of pushing the tooth back into the socket.  It actually ‘clicked’ back into place and bled like a stuck pig. The kids all freaked out. My youngest almost went into shock at the sight of blood and hubby was ranting and raving like a crazy person because our dentist former dentist didn’t have an emergency number.   All is copacetic ( my fancy word for the day) now and the  tooth is gonna be fine.

** What does 250 seventh graders, five acres of corn, several squealing baby pigs and a mess of hungry cows have in common?  It’s called a field trip to a corn maze/ dairy farm.  Yeah, baby!  (I’m being sarcastic of course..) I ended up somehow leading the caravan of SUVs and minivans to the site. How that happened I’ll never know. The group of kids I got were just oh so happy to be there (sarcasm again). The girls informed me that the wished to get lost in the maze, but not because there were excited about the trip. Just the opposite actually. All they talked about was food, boys, and how bored they were. The one boy in the group, besides my own son, wouldn’t stay with the group and would run ahead–misbehaving. I threatened to spank him right  if he didn’t quit. Yes, you heard me correctly: Spank.  At first he thought I was joking….I didn’t have anymore trouble out of him. Baby cows are as cute as they come until you start to feed them.  Yuck!

** I had a teacher conference with ALL of my oldest son’s teachers.  It wasn’t as bad as I had planned for. They actually did’t call me a bad mom this time, or tell me my son needed to be on drugs, or even shout at me. I still didn’t sit down at the table with the rest of the teachers…just in case. I chose to stand as I didn’t want to let my guard down too much.  Teachers can be sneaky, you know.  I once had a teacher tell me  the reason my son was having trouble learning in school was because I didn’t talk to him enough. Can you believe that?

** I had my first photo shoot with a real live human this past Friday!!  It was fun! I don’t know what I was so worried about. I got in some great shots during the hour and a half that we were out there.  It was so cool. We  did four clothes changes too. Of course I don’t know how much fun that actually was for him as he had to change outfits in his truck, but hey. Now, I just have to go though all those photos and pick out the best ones, clean them up, and put them on a cd for his mom.  Seems that in all our excitement that we forgot to take pics of him in the letterman jacket–he plays football. After seeing the sample I sent her of one of the pictures, the mom wants to make another appointment for the jacket pictures . I’ve got the perfect live oak tree picked out for that task, complete with limbs touching the ground and  drapped in moss.  Oh, and by the way, the son texted his mom when it was all over, saying  he had a blast and that I was cool.  And  ‘NO’ I didn’t hold a gun to his head. Yeah honey, COOL; that’s me.

** My favorite SEC football team lost this weekend. Actually that isn’t correct. They got slaughtered. It was horrible.  We had gone to a friends house to watch the game, but left at the end of the third quarter after the opposing team had scored 51 points.  What was the point of continuing to watch….

** And now I’ve saved the best for last…as of 5:30am this morning I have one less mouse problem to worry about.  My grandma cat, Wednesday, caught that sucker as he was heading into the house  for breakfast. I’ve been after that little varmint for weeks now. Serves him right for scaring me to death on the stairs that time.

Well that’s about it folks. I’m all out of info, not that you cared to know any of it in the first place.

LATER!

October 13, 2008 - Posted by | family, humor, kids, life, photography, Uncategorized | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Whew! That is too much to even comment.

    But, never run in new shoes…it is hard to get used to the different size of the soles.

    Uhm….OK. I’m gonna pretend that made sense. 🙂

    ** (just letting you know that it did make sense after I had my two cups of coffee….should’ve known better than to try and do/understand anything before them.)

    Comment by morethananelectrician | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. Good grief! I really don’t even know where to begin. Glad all the kids are ok and nothing TOO traumatic happened in the maze and especially glad everything is good with the tooth. That’s awesome about the photo shoot. I’m sure you got some really great pics and the family will be pleased!

    First off, I like the new pic you’re using! Second, most of my days/weekends go pretty much like this. I just don’t ‘report’ it on the blog so to speak. uhm…funny you should mention the photos…..I’m going through them now and they aren’t as good as I had first thought and I’m beginning to panic—just slightly. I’ve got some great head shots and some great candid black/white shots, but not so good on the full pose.

    Comment by bluesuit12 | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. HA! I forgot that I had changed the pic b/c it’s not new and it’s the one I use on facebook so I’m used to seeing it. I need to take a new funny pic and use that. Anyway, I took pics of my sister a couple of weeks ago and didn’t like any of the full body shots I took. You can look at the ones I edited on Nandango’s View and all of them are close up. I don’t know what it is about full body but it’s harder. I think so anyway. But I’m sure yours are great.

    Thanks for the encouragement, Blue. 🙂
    (I haven’t used my facebook account in ages…it’s probably turned me over to social welfare dudes already…)

    Comment by bluesuit12 | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  4. You are awesome…How’s is that cousin?
    You have been tagged, this should be fun..
    See my blog.

    Love you….Barb

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | October 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

