A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Recap of the week

It seems the stats for my web blogs have all flat lined—all three of them. So I guess I had better make some kind of effort here to fix that before I become a thing of the past… a forgotten memory.  Here we go…

** Had one of my favorite actors, Paul Newman, die on  my birthday.  So long ‘Butch Cassidy’;rest easy ‘Cool Hand Luke’. You’ll be missed..

** Had our lap top come in contact with a nasty virus….almost lost our hard drive. Things are fine now.

** Was hired by a friend to take her son’s senior pictures.  Though I jumped at the chance, I hyperventilated for the first two days and then freaked out. This is the real thing—a real paycheck at the end. I’ve never  been hired to take pics of people before. I do nature scenes and such–Less chance of making mistakes… People are a whole new area.  After praying, something clicked inside and now things are fine…I’m even looking forward to it.  I’ve scouted out an area in which to take the photos ( see pictures below). He wants the whole ‘southern’ thing with rebel flags and deer heads.  What do you think? Did I hit it on the head? (my cousin said it reminded her of the movie ‘Deliverance’ right down to the gas pumps. Can you hear the dueling banjos?)

** Because of the above mentioned, my dear friend has opened up a business opportunity for me. She has several other families lined up for photo shoots. I’m still not sure about this whole thing, but I told her that if I was to do this then she had to be my business partner. I don’t like doing the ‘money’ end of things. Leave me to do the artsy stuff. It’s what I do best. We shall see where this goes or if it blows up in my face.

** Watched one of my favorite movies…‘Rebel Without a Cause’. I cried. I always cry, especially during the scene where Jim Stark (James Dean) confronts his parents after the chicken car race in which his challenger died. Jim doesn’t know what to do and ask his family, mainly his dad, for advice.  He so wants his dad to stand up for him and to his pushy, overbearing mom…even if it’s just this one time.  He wants to do the right thing, but his parents tell him to do otherwise which confuses him and he becomes angry at his father for the lack of a spine, attacking him at the end of the scene. ( I think if I was Natalie Wood  in this movie, I’d be looking at James Dean that way too.)

** received a b-day card from my favorite cousin. Man she’s a trip!

** Have had several email conferences with my oldest son’s teachers. I actually got out of hand, said some harsh and rude words, and had to apologize personally with one teacher.  I pray she doesn’t hold it against me.

** There’s a chill in the air which means that It’s homecoming around these parts. I didn’t realize how much my little spit of a town goes all out for this. They had a parade down main yesterday that would rival Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade…well not really.  But It sure was fun to watch .

** I’ve just discovered that my camera download cord thingy isn’t working. DAGNABIT!  Figures!  Now that I’ve committed to taking the photos, my camera has fits..

** Well gotta split…hope you guys had a fun week too and a great coming weekend!

October 3, 2008 - Posted by | family, life, photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. You could never be a forgotten memory.

    1. I think Paul Newman seemed to be a generally kind person, loving husband and an all around good guy.

    2. Do you have any deer head lying around?

    Thanks; you’re way, way too kind.
    1. I really liked his acting and from what I’ve read and heard, I’d have to agree with you on that.
    2. Believe it or not, I asked my friend the very same question. She just looked at me like I was stupid…as if to say ‘hello, we live in the south, of course we do’

    Comment by morethananelectrician | October 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. It’s nice when you can make a little extra money doing something you like to do. I hope you can make a ton! Or, at least enough to buy a new cord thingy.

    Honey, you ain’t kidding. I love photography and wouldn’t mind making some extra dough on the side doing it, maybe enough to buy a new camera with (and a new cord thingy too). But I’m still not comfortable being called a professional photographer. If you tell people that, then they expect certain stuff from you and your work. I’m not sure that I can deliver….. I’m such a coward.

    Comment by Adam Riggins | October 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. Yeah and congrats to you on getting a paying photo shoot. My oldest sister has started doing this a few months ago and is really having a lot of fun. She didn’t have a background in photography either just really liked it. Her site is actually on my photo one listed as Keepsake Photography. The place looks perfect for that southern look you’re going for! I’m excited to hear how it all turns out.

    Thanks Blue. I think it’s gonna be a whole lot of fun too, and it’s actually something I’ve wanted to try for awhile now. I’ve been just a bit chicken about it. I’ll have to check out your sister’s site too and maybe ask a few questions while I’m there.

    Comment by bluesuit12 | October 3, 2008 | Reply

  4. Funny you should blog about that. I was just about to direct you to my post to show you the rainbow I took last night !!! Good luck with the business.

    Thanks Kathy! I’ll have to pop over and have a look at the rainbow…I bet it’s beautiful.

    Comment by kathy | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. I would love for you to take our family portrait in a very cool place like that. Considering half of us live in TN and the other half in CA, that may be difficult, but really someday, I would love that. I can dream…Have a great time…
    Hugs…Barb

    Thanks, Barb. I would love to take your family portrait—is that gonna be with or without the deer head? 🙂 love ya girl!

    Comment by Barb | October 9, 2008 | Reply

  6. Oooh. No dead animals in my pictures. Old gas pumps, okay.

    Love you..Barb

    gotta it…no deer heads. 🙂

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | October 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

