A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Sing it Girl!:Natalie Grant’s show

Nat and her backup singer, belting it out.

Nat and her backup singer, belting it out.

Okay; so after the last concert I went to, I vowed never to go to another one  again anytime soon. I caved.

Through the grapevine, I found out that Natalie Grant was giving a show a few towns over, for free. Well, who can pass of a deal like that? So I announced  my plans to the family and  packed up the kiddies that wanted to go and headed on over.

It was a great concert, even if the darn love bugs were everywhere and the rain sprinkled on us a time or two.  The kids were hot and we forgot to bring our chairs (the concert was outside), but once the concert started they seemed to be fine—at least the older ones were. The younger ones, I’m afraid though, were bored out of their minds. No one complained. They just sat quietly on the ground while Natalie sang.

And can she sing! That woman may be small in statue, but what a voice.  She sang some songs off her new album, Relentless, and some of her older stuff. It was enjoyed by all. The only thing the kids were depressed about was the fact that they weren’t able to get her autograph when it was over. Oh, well; maybe next time.

On a personal note: I enjoy these smaller concerts. With the larger ones, it becomes easy to loose sight of everything.

September 22, 2008 - Posted by | family, kids, life, photography, religion, Uncategorized | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. hey, I saw Third Day in concert this weekend. Looks like it was a good weekend for concerts!

    seems like EVERYBODY got to see Third Day this weekend!! They’re coming to our neck of the woods soon with Need to Breathe….can’t wait!

    Comment by Adam Riggins | September 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. I have to say I’ve actually never heard of her but the experience sounds like it was a lot of fun. I agree, small concerts are the best! A little over a year ago I went and saw Richard Marx (I know cheesy) and it was probably the best concert I’ve ever been to in my life. Very small, we were in the 3rd row and there were no theatrics, just him on stage singing. It was awesome.

    Yeah, the smaller ones seem more intimate and personal–much more enjoyable. The larger ones are good but there is so much hype and so many people and usually you can’t get to meet the band…. and I’m sort of a people person.
    (just to let you in on a little known fact… I kinda like Richard Marx too.)

    Comment by bluesuit12 | September 23, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hey..Brody does Natalie’s blog. I am so glad you had a good time. Wish she would come out here.
    Love, Barb

    That’s so cool! I didn’t know that….small world. I really enjoyed her singing. She’s so down to earth…….

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | September 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

