A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

That was a bit weird…

As you all know, unless you’ve been keeping yourself under a rock, we’ve had a hurricane hit our area. There are a lot of folks around here who still don’t have power.  Well to help out with this problem, small Salvation Army aid stations have been popping up everywhere at corner stores and churches where they’re giving out cleaning supplies, MRE s ( army food ration pouches), and  sometimes hot meals.

Anyway, yesterday my daughter and I were heading towards the grocery store to find something for dinner. Down the road a bit  we could see a woman standing next to the road, waving to people as they passed by.  As we approached her position we heard her hollering something. She was announcing to people that the Salvation Army was serving up hot food in the church parking lot.

Our windows were open and as we got right up on her, she almost jumped out  in front of the car telling us, “We have free food; come on in and eat.”

I smiled and told her, “No thanks.”  We didn’t need any.  Usually I don’t pass up free food, but I had just eaten lunch. The church lady, however, was not giving up ( I’m not sure if she didn’t used to be a telemarketer or something). She leaned even closer to our open car window (almost touching it) and yelled, “WE HAVE FREE HOT FOOD! PULL IN!”  But her pleasant mood  had disappeared. It was almost as if she was ordering us to do so.

My daughter and I both freaked; this woman was nuts. I quickly sped away and almost ran right through the four way stop ….and the lady kept yelling at us to “PULL IN,” as we drove off.

My  nine year old daughter looked at me, clearly shook up, ” Mom, that lady was strange. I’d be afraid to eat there even if it was free food.”

I had to agree.

We were forced to take the same road back on our way home from the store because of downed trees on the other alternate routes.  We had to face the lady again and  I could see the panic begin to set on my daughter’s face as we neared the corner church again. I told her not to worry, just don’t make eye contact with the lady.

The Salvation Army/church lady was still there yelling at folks to pull in, but we sped past before she had the chance to chase us down.

September 8, 2008 - Posted by | family, food, humor, kids, life, Uncategorized | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Whew…weird!

    you can say that again! 🙂

    Comment by morethananelectrician | September 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. Wow she was a little over zealous to say the least.

    No kidding, honey. I’m sure I’m not the only one she scared off either as the parking lot was not that full. Maybe she was afraid the food would go to waste or something…..

    Comment by bluesuit12 | September 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. Man, maybe they thought she would be zealous and get people in, and she over shot it…..That would scare me too. So glad to hear from you, Scottie. May the Lord continue to keep you safe as those storms come. Glad there is a break for you and your fam right now. Please just let me know. we are right here…
    Much love, Barb

    I passed the same little church today and the very, insistent lady was still there…only she wasn’t chasing people down this time. She was helping to serve the food.

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | September 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

