A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Short update

The hurricane is getting closer. The wind has started blowing ever so slightly outside. If I didn’t know better, I’d just say that it was going to be a regular day.

The relatives have all arrived in town safely.

Personally, I think most folks are overplaying this….but that’s just me.

Already, we’ve had people from New Orleans stop and look at our house (which is for sale) on their way out of town.

The corner store is completely out of gas and has posted a guard at the door as people have started stealing Ice and such. It’s a shame that storms always seem to bring out the ‘best’ in folks.

Wal-mart has run out of toilet paper and  the water looks to be getting very thin. They have also posted a security guard/police officer on the water isle.

Filled up the car with gas this morning and then it wouldn’t start afterward. I had to sit in the parking lot  for 45minutes until it decided to start.

We’ve put up all the outside stuff that can blow around, and all the dirty laundry have been washed.

I’ve been somewhat successful at keeping the kids from eating up all the hurricane supplies….for now.

Just flipped on the TV and according to the weather dude, the storm should reach us around midnight or one am.  Oh, how fun… (being sarcastic of course)

August 31, 2008 - Posted by | family, kids, life, Television, Uncategorized |

4 Comments »

  1. Well, I’m all prepared and will be leaving to ride the storm out at my mom’s house. The only little item remaining to be taken care of is the pile of projectile tree limbs that my neighbor decided to trim earlier this week and has left sitting by the sidewalk right in front of my house.

    Oh, I didn’t wash clothes. What’s that saying…..make sure you have clean underwear in case you get in a hurricane?? or something like that.

    Ya’ll be safe.

    Or something like that…. 🙂 As Barb put it above, may God keep you and your family safe in the palm of his hand. See ya on the other side of the storm, girl!

    Comment by Eirene | August 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. so, I think you should do some “live blogging” from the storm. Be safe, of course, but give us a play-by-play!

    I’m gonna try, Adam. I don’t know how long the battery will last on the lap top once the power goes out. Plus, hubby likes to hog it all the time. It’s a shame that it will hit us at night because I won’t be able to take pictures and show y’all. RATS! Later Adam!

    Comment by adam | August 31, 2008 | Reply

  3. Praying that the Lord will keep you and yours in the palm of His hands. You are cared for and loved. I will be praying through this time and watching the news.

    May God bless you richly and keep you strong.

    Barb

    Comment by Barb | August 31, 2008 | Reply

  4. Scottie…Praying for your safety. Praying the Lord will keep you and yours in the palm of
    His hands. I know you must have been through this before, not me…I will be praying for your strength and safety and courage.
    Much love, Barb

    Thanks ever so much for the prayers, Barb. I’ve lived here all my life and, yes, I have been through this before, but each time is different. The hardest part is the waiting—ugh! Get it over with already. Later girl!

    Comment by 6justmyopinion | August 31, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

