A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

I hate when this happens

I’ll admit it…  My new/old car has taken a bit getting used to. It’s a standard and because of my short legs, I have trouble reaching the pedals. Not to mention that it has a short shift kit installed on it—which just means that you don’t have to pull the stick down as far as you would in most standards. And that’s good for racing, but I have no plans on racing the darn thing and so this drives me nuts.

But even so, I’ve gotten into the rhythm of things and have managed to work out all the kinks….well most of them anyway. I still have days where I threaten to  slash it’s tires and shove it off a cliff.

The other night I hopped into the car to go to the store for a gallon of milk.  I had no problem pulling out of the driveway and onto the road. It was only when the store was in sight and the stop sign was nearing approach that I ran into a snag.

As a bad habit, I always pop the clutch and put the vehicle into neutral and coast to a stop. Well, I went to push in the clutch when suddenly the car lurched to a stop. If I hadn’t been wearing the seat belt, I would have done a face plant on the windshield. It freaked the tar out of me and I wondered what the heck was going on.

I took my foot off the pedal and the car moved forward again, the stop sign growing closer. A split second later, I tried the clutch once more and the same thing happened again.  The stupid car was giving me whiplash.  And then … I realized why.  I wasn’t in my new/old car.  I was in the SUV—which is an automatic.  DOH!!! Boy did I feel stupid.  I was slamming my foot down on the brake instead of the clutch.

( And just In case you were wondering….No, I’m not a blonde. But I could give them a run for their money.)

August 29, 2008 - Posted by | humor, life, Uncategorized | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. LOL!!!!!!!

    We still have a manual transmission car in the driveway. I don’t drive it very often, but when I do I find that I forget to take it out of gear as I am headed to a stoplight and I am coasting to a stop. I feel embarrassed when it happens. I haven’t actually stalled the car, but it has started hopping a couple of times.
    Ha,ha…that’s funny and thanks for admiting it too. I knew I couldn’t be the only one this happens to.
    BTW,all of this happened right in front of a police officer traveling in the opposite direction. It’s a wonder he didn’t pull me over.

    Comment by morethananelectrician | August 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

