A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Finding out some cool stuff..

I don’t know about you, but my family loves genealogy stuff. Mom’s into it, my uncle is swimming in it, as well as my mother-in-law who has more photos of her ancestors than should be humanly aloud.

I dig all this history. I love finding out who was best buds with King Louis what’s-his-name of France, but who was forced to leave the country quickly with a price on his head. And then there is that tiny little forgotten fact that my husband’s clan were a bunch of mercenaries hired by the king of England to help wipe out the Irish and who still have a town named after them in Ireland.  We also have that distant relative who supposedly murdered a man, shot him in a bar room brawl while being an officer of the law—he’s not mention much at the reunions.  I mean there is some wild stuff happening in the past.

And let’s not forget the slave uprising and revolt that happened on some great,great, great, great (do I have enough ‘greats’ in there?) uncles plantation that killed several people and had others hanged…  Or the one who had a gambling problem and lost the family estate in a poker game…. Or the Bayou that bears your father’s kinsmen name and the fact that they helped to revolutionize the sugar cane processing business and had ties to pirates.  COOL!

I won’t mention the political side of things. We had lots of politicians and lots of back room dealings, I’m sure. Both sides of our family are littered with  scoundrels, inventors, lovers, professors, doctors, murders, civil servants, explorers, pirates, pioneers, black sheep, priest, Cuban revolutionaries, flying aces, chefs, blue blood aristocrats, and your general run of the mill average Joe.

But the one fact I found to be the most interesting, was discovered while I was doing my own little back ground digging on my family.  I found out that way back in the late 1800’s, my family was sued by my husband’s family over a plot of land. I had to laugh.  Seems even back then, our two familys didn’t get along. Some things never change. BTW, I never did find out who won that case…

August 18, 2008 - Posted by | family, humor, kids, life, Uncategorized | ,

2 Comments »

  1. You have your own little “Hatfields and McCoys” thing going on there.

    It is funny, it is weird how much I identify bloggers by the way their pages look. I get confused every time someone changes something…it is that OCD kicking in.

    Ya should’ve been at the wedding. I thought my mom and mother-in-law were going to get into a slugging match—all over the placement of guest/chairs. We had bets going and the odds were pretty good.
    So what you’re saying is that you don’t like my new blog page…. just kidding. I can’t stand to leave things alone or the same for too long. I love to rearrange. Good thing no one in my family is blind…they’d kill themselves tripping over the furniture all the time.

    Comment by morethananelectrician | August 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. My family is pretty big into genealogy as well. I’ve read stuff here and there but never really immersed myself into it. My sister also found out that our family and her husband’s family had crossed paths a few times in the past. Nothing like getting sued but still. Small world after all I guess.

    Small indeed. Even on vacation we kept running into people who lived in our hometown or nearby and there we were several states away from home!

    Comment by bluesuit12 | August 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

