A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Meet Tuesday….

I, or rather we–me and the kids–, rescued this little ball of energy from certain death. He was hiding under the hood of my car.  The litter mate wasn’t so lucky.  It had gotten run over two days before, infront of our house. Not a pretty picture. And neither would Tuesday’s have been either if I had started the car.

Upon rescuing the ungreatful creature, it scratched the tarnation out of me and bit me twice….hard. My finger was swollen for days after. Stupid cat.

Only days later, once the kitten calmed down, did I realize that we had been calling it a ‘she’. Well I never thought to look to see if it really was a ‘she’. Turns out that ‘Tuesday’ isn’t actually a  ‘Tuesday’ but a ‘Thursday’.  Now we have to come up with a new name for him. So far we’ve tried: Monroe, Grady, Spaz, It, Mr. Kitty, Stupid Cat ( my choice), and my hubby’s favorite… Gone.

Oh, by the way, did I mention that the neighbor girl wanted the cat?  Begged me, she did. I told her sure; she could have it. I need another cat like I need a hole in the head.  Only her mother had other ideas. And now the cat is in limbo. Which translates into: I guess we’re keeping the darn thing. Stupid cat!

***** The debate has been settled. The cat’s new name is officially  ‘Milo”.  Hubby came up with it.*****

July 14, 2008 - Posted by | family, humor, kids, life, photography, Uncategorized | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Gone…excellent choice. No one really wants to see animals die, but I would have let the proper authorities handle this one…I am just not a cat person.

    More power to you guys!

    down here, you have to pay for the proper authorities to come and pick up the animal. sorry, I didn’t have 25 bucks.

    In one months time I have saved one rabbit,four baby birds that fell out of a tree, two dogs, and now this cat. I’m getting a bit burnt out…

    Comment by morethananelectrician | July 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’m not really a cat person but he looks cute in the pics. Nice of you to take him in, I would have chased him out of the yard to fend for himself. I totally suck I know.

    I actually did chase him out of the yard…twice. But we live on a very busy highway and he would always run straight into traffic. The kids would scream and squeal as he darted between cars. Somehow he never got hit. I figured it was easier to take him in and find him a new home—-not necessarily ours— then it would be to explain to the kids why the semi-truck squashed the kitten. With five kids and the neighbor kids looking on, I found it hard to be ‘Hitler’.

    Comment by bluesuit12 | July 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

