A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Crackers?!

The other day I was carrying my three year old in my arms as we approached a store. No sooner had I opened the door to the establishment, than my daughter began sniffing the air like a blood hound.

“What’s dat smell,” she blurted out….loudly.

“I don’t know,” I replied; unsure of what her little nose had picked up on. It could have been a million different things. “What does it smell like? Does it smell good?”

“Uh-huh”

“It must be me,” I told her, figuring that I would take the credit in hopes that someone in my family would notice that I had changed  hair shampoos. Suddenly the blood hound, I mean my daughter, turned her nose and began sniffing me.

“Mmmmm…. crackers,” she answered. But I was only half listening at this point as I was preoccupied with my shopping.

“What?”  I called out over my shoulder, clearly confused by her remark.

” You smell like crackers.”

So there you have it folks. My new hair shampoo makes me smell like crackers; Yeah, buddy. And you got it straight from the three year old’s mouth.

July 11, 2008 - Posted by | family, food, humor, kids, life, Uncategorized | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. One of the beauties of children is that absolute honesty you get from them(up to a certain age of course)! I enjoyed your post. Thanks

    With five of them little buggers under my feet, I get LOTS of honesty. Thanks for stopping by, Alex!

    Comment by Alex | July 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. better than cheese, I suppose.

    ha, ha!! I guess you’re right. “Mommy you smell like blue cheese!”

    Comment by adam | July 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. I am looking for a girl who smells like meat. Not old smelly meat.

    A Porter house perhaps? or maybe some good ol’bacon?

    Comment by morethananelectrician | July 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. I never thought about crackers having a smell. I guess maybe cinnamon which is a good thing to smell like right? oh, or butter. LOL

    or peanuts like on the TV commercial…. 🙂

    Comment by bluesuit12 | July 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

