A Southern Fried Mess

Insanity is a southern necessity…

Memorial Day

Well, I guess this is better late than never. I meant to post this earlier in the week, but time got away from me. So here it is, my contribution to Memorial Day.

Below are pictures of my father and a few friends. He served in the Navy on a battleship during the Korean war, right out of high school. He was the assistant to the captain of the ship and also ran the PT boats (only I don’t know if they still called them by that name anymore) to ferry the soldiers to shore.

I had more photos ( some of attacking planes, shooting and dropping bombs and such–who would think to take pictures during that time? I’d be running for cover!) but I’m afraid that my scanner is down. Enjoy and happy Memorial day.

Here’s dad…

I love this one! Where in the world do you hide a dog on a battleship? My dad was out to sea and yet here is this dog…apparently he was their mascot. Leave it to my dad to find a dog in the middle of nowhere.

This is one of my dad (he’s the cool dude with the shades on) and his buddy. Sorry; I don’t know his name, but those are Japaneses mountains in the background.

Here’s my father looking for enemy planes.

This one is of dad, hard at work. Who knew he could type? If you take a closer look at the photo you will notice he’s wearing flip flops. Are those standard Navy issue? Also, perched in his mouth is the ever present cigarette—Pall- Mall brand to be exact.

May 26, 2008 - Posted by | family, life, photography, Uncategorized | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Those pics are awesome. It’s cool to think that those were snapshots of someone doing such an important job for our country. Thanks!

    Comment by adam | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. Your welcome Adam. I only wished the scanner was working so I could post the rest of the pictures. There’s one of a battle cruiser getting shot at by attacking planes, with puffs of smoke everywhere. It looked like something out of a Hollywood movie…. only it was real.

    Comment by Scottie | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. Great pictures. Thanks for the links. I love old photos like that.
    You’re welcome Brody. Glad you liked the photos—-you’ve got some great ones on your sight too.

    Comment by Brody | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  4. Very nice pictures!

    PT were made of wood and the upkeep would be difficult in a peace time Navy. If we were ever in a Naval War, this type of ship would be put into use in a hurry. They were also very heavy and used a lot of fuel. There just isn’t a mission for them right now.

    Comment by morethananelectrician | May 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

